Reflections, Insights, and Realizations

My Learning Style

I took some online inventories to pinpoint my learning style preferences. Here are the results.

Kolb:  I used a self-assessment to determine where I landed in Kolb’s processing continuum and perception continuum.  I knew from the get-go that I was a watcher so I focused on ‘Diverging’ and Assimilating’.  I immediately identified with the Assimilating description because those learners prefer readings, lectures, and thinking ideas through.  But I didn’t agree that ‘ideas and concepts are more important than people’ to me and while I like math and basic science, they’re not subject areas that I seek out.

Parts of the ‘Diverging’ description sounded a lot more like me.  I’m sensitive and respond to others emotions, love a good brainstorm, and have broad cultural interests.  But I don’t prefer group work to individual work and sometimes I take personal feedback a bit too…personally.

Luckily these ‘in-between’ positions on Kolb’s diagram have been acknowledged and identified.  I think I would label myself an ‘Easterner’ because my emphasis is on reflecting but thinking and feeling are balanced.

Jung: Based on the Humanmetrics Jung Typology Test, I’m an ISFJ (introverted, sensing feeling judging).

About.com Psychology offers some insightful description.

ISFJs and Learning / School
ISFJs are concrete learners. They are drawn to subjects that are practical. They learn best with caring and organized teachers. They need clear and detailed directions. Teachers appreciate their willingness to work hard and turn in assignments on time. ISFJs often pursue training for service-oriented careers.

ISFJ Strengths and Weaknesses
There are strength and weaknesses that ISFJs are more likely to possess than others.

Typical ISFJ Strengths

  • Good at listening
  • Eager to serve
  • Good at handling money
  • Warm and affirming
  • Great organizational skills

Possible ISFJ Weaknesses

  • Can neglect their own needs

  • Dislikes change

  • Takes criticism personally

  • Has trouble with conflict

 

VARK (visual, aural, read/write, kinesthetic): My results were actually multimodal with a slight preference for read/write and kinesthetic.

Taking note of my results across various learning style inventories, my approach to learning seems more private than group-oriented, reading-centered, with a strong desire to connect personally to new ideas via personal experience.

A practice that would really help my learning would be to write down an example from my own life that corresponds with each new idea.  For example, when I’m reading about using rewards in the classroom, I’ll make a note of how my students try harder, work longer, and resist less if they are allowed to choose a sticker for the sticker chart once they complete their work.

I think making these personal connections to my learning with pen and paper will make what I learn more enduring in mind.  In this course specifically, this practice will be natural and beneficial as I am presently working in the classroom.  In reviewing the notes I’ve taken later, I can revisit the principles learned by examining my own experiences.

Leave a Reply

